I Can Only Imagine………

Losing someone you love is never easy.  What is so difficult to me is knowing I will never be able to touch my sweet sister again.  I will never be able to smell her again, never hear her voice again, look into her eyes, simply be in her presence.  Those moments have simply faded away.

tumblr_lb9681vesr1qajjdco1_5001

One of the greatest gifts we were blessed with in those final days was being given those moments.  I was able to write her “My letter to an Angel” and be present with her there “in the here and now.”  I could hold her , cry with her, touch her, smell her and FEEL her in that moment.  Even in the end when she became unresponsive, I was able to go and sit by her bedside.  I could hold her hand , watch and feel her heart beating.  Sometimes I would doze off next to her and that was OK because I was still THERE.

29875ddb3d3cfa6fa108d1002bd1e1b9

Memories are a wonderful thing.  It is all we have left when God calls our loved ones home. We must cling to those memories and hold them dear so we do not forget.  I am so grateful God has blessed me with as many wonderful memories as He has.   In the coming days I pray my heart will come to accept that the moments we were given, that seem to have faded into only memories so quickly, were given to us now to cherish in this time of great sorrow.

440765598_640

Then, as I sit here in my loneliness, aching for the presence of my beautiful sister, I am reminded once again that SHE is standing in the presence of her LORD!  Nothing could be more magnificent or memorable for her than that!  Her once broken body is now free. She is once again whole.  I picture here dancing and singing in His presence.  This is what will sustain me and be locked into my memory forever.  What a glorious time she is having being in the presence of Jesus “in the here and now.”  I can only imagine!

About dansarc

If you enjoy reading about things that inspire you, things that make you giggle, enjoy uplifting music videos, love your pet and beautiful scenery then you have come to the right place. I have recently been diagnosed with a chronic illness and am trying to take one day at a time fitting that into my already crazy life. Come along on my journey as I relay what I have learned along the way. Some of it can be funny and some not so much. Grab a cup of coffee and get your readers on as we travel this road together. Be sure to press that "Like" button if you see something you enjoyed. I'd also love your feedback so feel free to leave me a comment. If you're having a good time and would like to join me again be sure to "Follow" me as well. I'd love to have you!!! I am a dedicated husband and father, diagnosed with Sarcoidosis and doing whatever it takes to get through each day with as much dignity as possible. I do not know what tomorrow brings but I do know who brings tomorrow. Strong faith and a love for Christ and my family is what gets me through each day with a smile on my face. One day, one hour, one minute at a time.....................
This entry was posted in Disease, Inspiration, Music, Spirituality, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Can Only Imagine………

  1. Beautifully written from your heart my friend. We never get over the loss of someone so close to us… we just get through it and take it a day at a time…. Yes .. your sister is truly home now…no more pain or worries…

    Like

Leave a Reply

