The Windows to Your Soul

life2

Life is precious.  It is a gift from God.  It is not to be taken for granted. It is a blessing.  To whom much is given, much is expected.  I honestly believe it is up to us to do the very best with what we have been blessed with.

Blue-Eyes

We all experience life through our own set of eyes.  Shakespeare  writes “The eyes are the window to your soul.”  I think if you look deep within someone’s eyes you can gain a deep sense to who they really are.  Some people’s eyes shine bright with a sense of warmth and caring that radiantly emanates from them.  Other’s eyes can be sad and show a troubled brooding soul.  Still other’s eyes can be cold and withdrawn.

timthumb-300x225

These are the same set of eyes we view our world through.  Ultimately it is up to us which set of eyes we use to shape and mold who we are in this life.  It’s true.  Life can be hard, especially when faced with a disease like Sarcoidosis.  However, I believe there is much positive that can be found through the disease as well.  It just depends  which set of eyes we chose to see with.

bfeeaac39b058097e130a94beb6641de

Without pain and illness, we would never truly be able to experience and appreciate living without it.  We would simply take for granted the gift of living well. Without pain we would never be able to know comfort.  Without being ill , we would never know what it meant to be well.

188817_10151775824114972_874905308_n

Sarcoidosis has changed who I am as a person.   It has in fact, in many ways, changed me for the better.  I am a much more compassionate person than I used to be.   I have gained a desire to be loving, caring and supportive.  I honestly try to live by the motto of treating everyone kindly. We never know what private battles people are facing.  We can be the one to make a difference in a person’s life simply by being kind.

MimiEunice_24

We can chose to see “the glass”  as half empty or half full in life.  Sarcoidosis has pushed me to see it as half full.  Full of life, full of love, full of compassion.  It has also pushed me to see the silver lining, to know that there is always someone else who has it worse than me, and to take the focus off of myself and place it on helping others.

LOMDI-fri-5.30

We make choices every day to live well or not.  I chose this day and challenge everyone facing a difficult battle to find your “positive” moments, focus on those, and be thankful to be alive, believing  someone else always does have it worse.  Maybe then, just maybe, YOU can be the person to make a difference in THEIR lives as they gather that warmth and caring that emanates from you as they gaze deeply into the windows of your soul!!!

About dansarc

If you enjoy reading about things that inspire you, things that make you giggle, enjoy uplifting music videos, love your pet and beautiful scenery then you have come to the right place. I have recently been diagnosed with a chronic illness and am trying to take one day at a time fitting that into my already crazy life. Come along on my journey as I relay what I have learned along the way. Some of it can be funny and some not so much. Grab a cup of coffee and get your readers on as we travel this road together. Be sure to press that "Like" button if you see something you enjoyed. I'd also love your feedback so feel free to leave me a comment. If you're having a good time and would like to join me again be sure to "Follow" me as well. I'd love to have you!!! I am a dedicated husband and father, diagnosed with Sarcoidosis and doing whatever it takes to get through each day with as much dignity as possible. I do not know what tomorrow brings but I do know who brings tomorrow. Strong faith and a love for Christ and my family is what gets me through each day with a smile on my face. One day, one hour, one minute at a time.....................
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Windows to Your Soul

  1. dansarc says:

    Reblogged this on sarcoidan.

    Like

  2. Yes – I really enjoyed reading this. To be compassionate, we have to first know compassion and to walk in the shoes of others and to see life from the perspective of others. We have to become vulnerable….. and know what being vulnerable is….. It is then that our weaknesses become our strengths and we call on the good LORD who knows all and sees every detail, every bump in the road, every dip, who will set us on a higher ground so that our perspective does indeed change having become vulnerable.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

