Peace on Earth, Good Will to Men.

papergc,441x415,w,ffffff.2

Even though I hate Winter,  I love the look of the fresh fallen white snow when the trees and grass have been freshly blanketed with God’s frozen miracle.  I have to admit, it does slightly, but very briefly get me excited for Christmas.  I guess it’s how I grew up so that sentiment is hard to shake.  That being said, one snow fall and I’m good to go for the rest of the winter!  LOL   Driving to work the other day and having just a touch of it on the ground and caressing the trees, brought back those happy memories and fond feelings once more.

That, coupled with the other Holiday decorations and displays I noticed, and the Christmas music playing on the radio all worked their magic and started to fill my heart with joy.  By the time I got to work, I was feeling happy and blessed to be alive.  My parents had just arrived in town for the Holidays and that too was enough to carry me blissfully through the day.

angry-anger-mad-furious-mob-crowd-yelling-hate-blame-blaming-accuse-accused-scape-goat1

However, soon reality set in and I realized not everyone was sharing my heart-felt joy and “Peace on Earth.”  I was surrounded by the hustle and bustle once again and did not see many happy faces.  I began to sink inside annoyed that so many people were just, well….annoying!  Finally, however, I did run into someone else who also had that glow about them and I once again felt my spirits soar.

light-bulb-moment1st

And that’s when I had a “light bulb moment.”  It suddenly became clear to me.  Other people’s behavior should have no bearing on my happiness.  My joy should not be based on their behavior.  It needs to come from within me.  I alone am responsible for being miserable or choosing to live in harmony.  On the flip side of that, I have to wonder how many times has MY poor behavior stolen someone else’s joy?  Wow.  I had to ponder that thought for a while.  I was not proud of myself.  Life lesson learned. Treat others like you would like to be treated. Those words really made sense to me that day.

iStock_growth-as-a-person-300x198

True.  It is not always easy to do this.  Sometimes people can have a negative impact on us. Conversely, sometimes we can have a negative impact on them.  Once we recognize this fact however, I think we can  strive to improve who we are as individuals.  Instead of giving in to our poor behavior, we can turn it around and chose to positively impact others.   We can choose to “grow” and become the people God created us to be.

l1321212838

So this will be my mission for the remainder of the Holiday season.  And I challenge all of you to do the same.  YOU be the light in the world for others to see.  YOU be the positive influence so many others are desperately trying to find.  You never know what your positive attitude can do.  What a positive impact you could have on others.  Focusing in on doing this really could promote Peace on earth and good will to men!

About dansarc

If you enjoy reading about things that inspire you, things that make you giggle, enjoy uplifting music videos, love your pet and beautiful scenery then you have come to the right place. I have recently been diagnosed with a chronic illness and am trying to take one day at a time fitting that into my already crazy life. Come along on my journey as I relay what I have learned along the way. Some of it can be funny and some not so much. Grab a cup of coffee and get your readers on as we travel this road together. Be sure to press that "Like" button if you see something you enjoyed. I'd also love your feedback so feel free to leave me a comment. If you're having a good time and would like to join me again be sure to "Follow" me as well. I'd love to have you!!! I am a dedicated husband and father, diagnosed with Sarcoidosis and doing whatever it takes to get through each day with as much dignity as possible. I do not know what tomorrow brings but I do know who brings tomorrow. Strong faith and a love for Christ and my family is what gets me through each day with a smile on my face. One day, one hour, one minute at a time.....................
This entry was posted in Christmas, Inspiration, Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peace on Earth, Good Will to Men.

  1. Matthew Hyer says:

    I loved this article, Dansarc! I really appreciated your emphasis on the origin of happiness: ourselves. If we are looking for someone else to make us happy, then we are in a loop for the day. We’ll seek compliments, gifts, and friendships to just suddenly burst forth from the chilly atmosphere of the workplace. Our search will often be in vain, for we will sometimes think that the “gift” is never enough – the compliment, the promotion, the friendship won over. In the pursuit of happiness, the final destination will be at the coordinates of our own heart and mind.

    However, there is one “gift” that will ensure happiness for us. Only one gift of Christmas has ever brought eternal joy and complete happiness. #HeIsTheGift#ShareTheGift#ShareGoodness
    http://www.mormon.org/christmas

    Merry Christmas, Dansarc! Thank you so much for your wonderful blog and the messages that you share! 🙂

    Like

    • dansarc says:

      Hi Matthew! Glad you came by today. I’m really glad you enjoyed my blog. I appreciate the encouragement and hope you will stop by again. Merry Christmas to you as well. May God richly bless you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

