Jesus truly is the Reason for the Season

decoration-ideas-awesome-green-ornat-foliage-with-beautiful-brown-wooden-fireplace-also-charming-gold-green-decorative-christmas

jesus_is_the_reason_for_the_season-172831

Christmas is by far my favorite Holiday.  I love the beautiful decorations, festive music, the captivating light displays, time spent with family and friends and especially celebrating the birth of Jesus.  The little phrase “Jesus is the reason for the Season” has caught on in recent years and to me nothing could be more true.  

christmas-shopping-chaos-560x360We can get so caught up in the hustle and bustle of the season sometimes though trying to find that perfect gift or attempting to prepare for the perfect family gathering that by the end of it all, it becomes anything but perfect and the true meaning of Christmas has once again become lost in the shuffle.  

advent-wreath-fully-lit

I’m not saying we should abandon those holiday traditions.  For many of us it just would not be the same without exchanging gifts or hosting a family dinner.  There is certainly nothing wrong with that.  For me too, that is all a part of the celebration.  I’m just challenging us to maybe spend a little less time on these things and a little more time on contemplating the birth of our Lord and Savior. 

nativity-scene

My very favorite Christmas song of all time is “Oh Holy Night.”  To me this is the epitome of Christmas songs as it focuses specifically on that Wonderous  and Holiest of Holy nights when Christ was born.  To have been there on that night when the world would be forever changed.  What a magnificent thought.  It does make you want to forget about all the gifts and things of this world that will eventually pass away and focus more on that one Holy night, knowing that Jesus, and Jesus alone, truly is the reason for the Season.

About dansarc

If you enjoy reading about things that inspire you, things that make you giggle, enjoy uplifting music videos, love your pet and beautiful scenery then you have come to the right place. I have recently been diagnosed with a chronic illness and am trying to take one day at a time fitting that into my already crazy life. Come along on my journey as I relay what I have learned along the way. Some of it can be funny and some not so much. Grab a cup of coffee and get your readers on as we travel this road together. Be sure to press that "Like" button if you see something you enjoyed. I'd also love your feedback so feel free to leave me a comment. If you're having a good time and would like to join me again be sure to "Follow" me as well. I'd love to have you!!! I am a dedicated husband and father, diagnosed with Sarcoidosis and doing whatever it takes to get through each day with as much dignity as possible. I do not know what tomorrow brings but I do know who brings tomorrow. Strong faith and a love for Christ and my family is what gets me through each day with a smile on my face. One day, one hour, one minute at a time.....................
This entry was posted in Christmas, Inspiration, Music, Spirituality, Video and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Jesus truly is the Reason for the Season

  1. Don Sonnentag says:

    Hello Dan, what a beautiful piece on Christmas. It sure helped me get in the mood to get on a airplane and come home. We are excited to see everyone. Thanks again for your blog. Love you Dad

    Like

  2. Caden Mustoe says:

    Hey! I love your focus on the Savior during this hectic season and your willingness to share that with people. I especially love how you know that the Christmas traditions are good, but shouldn’t take the focus. The focus is on Jesus the Christ. The church I’m a member of just put out a very good video that talks about a lot of the same things. http://www.mormon.org/christmas?cid=HPFR112814529 Thanks again for your post!

    Like

  3. Gretiana says:

    Thank you for the reminder.

    Like

    • dansarc says:

      I am grateful for the fact that God brings people and situations in to my life every day to remind me and keep me humble. I am glad He can also use me to do the same for others! Be Blessed Gretiana and Merry Christmas! Thank you also for stopping by today!

      Like

  4. Hi Dan,

    I enjoyed reading your post on Christmas. I hope you and your family had a great Christmas this year. Thanks for stopping by my site to take a look at some of my recent posts on Christmas as well. I wish you a very happy new year my friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

