With the Heart of a Child

dreams

I had a dream last night.  It started out as a pleasant enough dream but ended up as somewhat of a  terrifying nightmare………

empty_theater_shutterstock645

I was sitting in a dark theater with my childhood family.  I was with my parents and my siblings but we were all adults.  I remember the production we were watching kept changing and soon none of it made any sense to us.  We were all discussing how strange things were getting so decided to leave.  Many other people were doing the same and I remember getting separated from the rest of my family.  I did catch a glimpse of my mother however, so continued following her.

As I walked on, my mother got further and further away.  I could barely make out anything more than the back of her head.  I called out to her but when she turned around, I saw that it wasn’t her after all!  I had been following the wrong person.  She had lead me down the wrong way.  Suddenly it hit me.  I was all alone.  I had no idea where I was.  The people I counted on, who had always been there were just…..gone!  I did not know where to turn.  I had no idea where to go.  I tried to read signs, to get an idea of which way to proceed, but honestly, when it came right down to it, I had no real clue what to do next.

I tried to find my way out of this huge building not knowing exactly how I was going to do it and then suddenly, just like that, I was out.  However, I then realized I would have to locate where we had parked the car. No matter which road I walked down or which alley I ducked into however, I just ended up on another street of unfamiliar buildings or construction sites. I had not paid any attention to where we parked the car or how we had gotten into the theater.  I simply followed along and relied on my family to get me to where I was going.

hqdefault

Now that I was on my own. I was lost!  I suddenly realized I was no longer a grown man either.  I was a small child.  A small child who was lost and alone and didn’t have a clue of what I was to do next.  It was a horrible scary feeling!  I started to cry and then began to pray.  It was then that I woke up.

6674fe239742d016deec395c672e78d0

After I woke up and was soaking in the fact that this had been a dream, I thankfully tried to go back to sleep.  As I slowly drifted off however, I found myself pondering what it all meant.  So many times in this life I think we can feel lost and confused like watching that production in my dream.  None of it makes any sense.  Soon we can find ourselves getting caught up in following the wrong path.  Like the person I was in the dream, following after that person I thought to be my mother only to find out she was not,  we too can get caught up following the wrong person. The person who ultimately leads us astray.

Audience-Cheering-grey_500w

We want to be part of the crowd and sometimes in desiring that, we just follow along and never really have a sense of where we are going.  Like in my dream, we find ourselves in a place without knowing how we got there.  Ultimately, we also find we have no idea how to find our way back out of the mess our lives have become either.

meuAXwWYM6Mqtb8KmZMsfSA

This is when we need to become child like once again.  Like the little boy I had now become in my dream, we need to allow the tears to flow. We need to humble ourselves before the Lord and cry out to God and He will make a way.

jesus-and-child-1

He will take us by the hand and lead us out of whatever we have allowed ourselves to get into.  He will lead us out and make us new.  All we have to do it ask Him.  He is always there.  He will never leave us or forsake us.  There are not many things in this life we can count on.  And the world can make us cold and jaded.  We must let the torments of the world fade away.  We need to cast our cares on Him and ask for Him to free us, cleanse us and make us whole.  This can be difficult but it does not have to be so.  Not if we humble ourselves and ask “With the heart of a child.” 

About dansarc

If you enjoy reading about things that inspire you, things that make you giggle, enjoy uplifting music videos, love your pet and beautiful scenery then you have come to the right place. I have recently been diagnosed with a chronic illness and am trying to take one day at a time fitting that into my already crazy life. Come along on my journey as I relay what I have learned along the way. Some of it can be funny and some not so much. Grab a cup of coffee and get your readers on as we travel this road together. Be sure to press that "Like" button if you see something you enjoyed. I'd also love your feedback so feel free to leave me a comment. If you're having a good time and would like to join me again be sure to "Follow" me as well. I'd love to have you!!! I am a dedicated husband and father, diagnosed with Sarcoidosis and doing whatever it takes to get through each day with as much dignity as possible. I do not know what tomorrow brings but I do know who brings tomorrow. Strong faith and a love for Christ and my family is what gets me through each day with a smile on my face. One day, one hour, one minute at a time.....................
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to With the Heart of a Child

  1. Don Sonnentag says:

    Thanks Dan for the good words. Mom & I both loved them. Be well and see you soon. Love you Mom & Dad

    Like

  2. I completely agree that we need to humble ourselves and become like little children! However, I think I lack sometimes in the execution of this commandment. Any thoughts on how we can actually implement the invitation to become like a little child?

    Like

    • dansarc says:

      Hi Brooke. Thanks for visiting the blog. It I believe is the giving up of our own stubborn will and being open and trusting that God will take care of us. Children hold nothing back. They trust because they have not yet been beaten down by the world yet for the most part. We need to just let go and let God so to speak. Trust is the key. It has to come from within ourselves. No one else can do that for you. To open up and trust God to take care of it, is becoming like a child in my opinion. God bless you and good luck!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. zen1970 says:

    Hi Dan. What an awesome post. Thank you so much. I agree we need to put our trust in The Lord. We can always count on God. He is there to love and guide us.

    Like

    • dansarc says:

      Great to hear from you Zen. I always love it when you come visit my blog. You are super sweet and such a positive light! Glad you enjoyed the post. Be well my friend!

      Like

Leave a Reply

