What Being Thankful Truly Means

Thanksgiving-Day-Images-Pictures-3

The Holiday Season is upon us and with it comes the every day expected hustle and bustle of preparing for it.  There are homes to be decorated, food to be prepared, gifts to be purchased, and of course then there is the most coveted day following Thanksgiving.  ………….Black Friday.

131104040320_w2s_black-friday-tag-640x360-16x9

Personally I have never understood this day.  Honestly so many people, even some of my own extended family members, can’t wait for this day to arrive.  They talk about it,  plan for it, have made a tradition out of it.   And it makes me stop and wonder.  Why?   Has “Stuff” gotten  in the way of us losing our focus on the true meaning of the Holiday?  Don’t get me wrong.  I enjoy my share of designer clothing and my new pair of sneakers as much as the next guy.  I’m not trying to be a martyr but I wonder, has all of that come at the risk of us losing our true sense of thankfulness?  I don’t have the answers.  I guess I’m just challenging all of us to stop, think, and re-evaluate our motives.

Mercedes-Benz-C-ClassThere are certain commercials that really bother me.  They highlight exactly what I am trying to convey.  They focus on a family or a couple who is so thrilled and happy with the new car they received until the neighbor or the guy down the block rides past in their nicer, fancier, more expensive new car.  Suddenly the one they were admiring moments before is no longer good enough.  Maybe I am just too cynical but this saddens me and then humbles me.

Freedom_From_Want

There truly is nothing materialistically speaking that moves me enough to waste my time standing in long lines and pawing the person in front of me to get at.  I would much rather spend my time with my family, friends, or relatives being truly thankful for what God has already blessed me with.  Think what you will.  It is the truth.  I challenge all of us this year to think more about what we already have and focus on being thankful for that and less about what else we can get.  Maybe if we spent just a little more time with that mind set we’d gain a better understanding of “What being Thankful truly means.”

About dansarc

If you enjoy reading about things that inspire you, things that make you giggle, enjoy uplifting music videos, love your pet and beautiful scenery then you have come to the right place. I have recently been diagnosed with a chronic illness and am trying to take one day at a time fitting that into my already crazy life. Come along on my journey as I relay what I have learned along the way. Some of it can be funny and some not so much. Grab a cup of coffee and get your readers on as we travel this road together. Be sure to press that "Like" button if you see something you enjoyed. I'd also love your feedback so feel free to leave me a comment. If you're having a good time and would like to join me again be sure to "Follow" me as well. I'd love to have you!!! I am a dedicated husband and father, diagnosed with Sarcoidosis and doing whatever it takes to get through each day with as much dignity as possible. I do not know what tomorrow brings but I do know who brings tomorrow. Strong faith and a love for Christ and my family is what gets me through each day with a smile on my face. One day, one hour, one minute at a time.....................
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Spirituality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Being Thankful Truly Means

  1. zen1970 says:

    I LOVE this post. I agree. It’s sad. People get so caught up on the material things they forget the true meaning of the holidays. I hope you and your family have a GREAT Thanksgiving. God Bless You.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

