One day, one hour, one minute at a time…………..

one day at a time

When I was growing up, my mother was one of the people I could consistantly turn to with whatever issues of the day I would be facing.  She was always there.  Always a “safe place” for me to land and I knew I could always count on her for some good solid supportive, loving and understanding direction.  One of the things she invariably used to say to me was  “One day at a time, my son, One day at a time.”  I find myself asserting this same phrase over and over again to others who are faced with whatever issues of the day they are facing.

im sick

Since being diagnosed with Sarcoidosis, however, I have had the need to modify this statement slightly.  Unlike my mother, even though it is always there, Sarcoidosis is hardly loving, supportive or understanding.  It is definitely NOT a soft place to land.  It is instead, unreliable, lonely, debilitating, scary and completely unpredictable.   I never know how I am going to feel from one moment to the next.  Instead of one day at a time, my life has become “One day, one hour, one minute at a time.”  I’ve had days that have started off hopeful and clear only to end up a few hours later to painful, exhausted and confusing. This can be a challenging way to live to say the least.

x

It is hard and it can be almost too much to manage some days.  However, it can be managed.  I’m still learning how to do this but I know it can be done.   There is no logic in looking back to get a glimpse at everything you used to be able to do.  Likewise, there is no rationale in looking too far ahead in anticipation of what you might be able to do either. Like I said, some days it just isn’t possible to see to the next moment.  This is when you simply must reach down inside of yourself and draw to the surface what lies deep within you.

stages

I was reading a blog today that I’ve been following  from “lisasretro” at http://lovemylifeanyway.wordpress.com/2014/11/23/acceptance-of-a-chronic-illness/Her post was on the stages of accepting chronic illness.  I believe I am teetering between the final 2 stages which are “Grief” and “Acceptance.”  I believe I have started to accept where I am.  However, I know I am still grieving the loss of where I used to be.  

itelect vs. emotion

Sometimes I don’t really feel like trying to get beyond the grief stage.  I guess that would mean “I really have it.”  How silly is that?  Intellectually, I know I have Sarcoidosis but emotionally, I still do not want to fully embrace the truth of it all.  But I know I will…..eventually, with God’s help.  “One day, one hour, one minute at a time.”

About dansarc

If you enjoy reading about things that inspire you, things that make you giggle, enjoy uplifting music videos, love your pet and beautiful scenery then you have come to the right place. I have recently been diagnosed with a chronic illness and am trying to take one day at a time fitting that into my already crazy life. Come along on my journey as I relay what I have learned along the way. Some of it can be funny and some not so much. Grab a cup of coffee and get your readers on as we travel this road together. Be sure to press that "Like" button if you see something you enjoyed. I'd also love your feedback so feel free to leave me a comment. If you're having a good time and would like to join me again be sure to "Follow" me as well. I'd love to have you!!! I am a dedicated husband and father, diagnosed with Sarcoidosis and doing whatever it takes to get through each day with as much dignity as possible. I do not know what tomorrow brings but I do know who brings tomorrow. Strong faith and a love for Christ and my family is what gets me through each day with a smile on my face. One day, one hour, one minute at a time.....................
This entry was posted in Chronic illness, Disease, Inspiration, Sarcoidosis and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One day, one hour, one minute at a time…………..

  1. lisasretro says:

    That’s not silly. It is so hard to move into the acceptance stage, and stay there as well. Who in their mind would want to accept it? No one. I guess in time comes wisdom and then acceptance will happen. It’s lovely that you still hear your mother in your head. x Lisa

    Liked by 1 person

    • dansarc says:

      OK. Good then we agree! I don’t want to move to “acceptance.” There, it’s settled! LOL My mother is only 73 and still very much alive so I hear her more than just in my head….which is also wonderful! I cherish every moment I have with her and my father both!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Gretiana says:

    i know exactly how it feels. I was diagnosed with an incurable disease four years ago and my life since then has been a battle to stay alive. But as you said, only faith , strong faith in Jesus keeps me going. I hold onto His word like a life jacket.

    Liked by 1 person

    • dansarc says:

      I am so sorry and you will be in my prayers! I don’t get how people who do not have the Lord in their lives do it when faced with disease. I’m so blessed by His love and glad you can know peace in your faith as well! Be blessed!

      Like

  3. Madison Grant says:

    It’s comforting to me to know that God has a plan for all of us. I really appreciated your article, and you opening up about the trials in your life and how you are getting through them. Because of Jesus Christ, and his sacrifice on the cross He knows exactly what we may be going through, and exactly how we feel! I am so grateful for God’s plan for us, and that He loves us infinitely. You are in my prayers! 🙂 This is a really good video that really just tugs at your heart and makes you feel God’s love for you even more! Enjoy! It’s called “Because of Him” https://www.lds.org/youth/video/because-of-him?lang=eng

    Like

    • dansarc says:

      Thanks for stopping by and for the kind words, Madison. Yes it is because of Jesus Christ, the son of God, who died on the cross for our sins, rose again, and is sitting at the right hand of His father, that we can live eternally with him someday. God bless and come see me again sometime. The video was beautiful!

      Like

Leave a Reply

