The Me I am Today…………

not your illness

It has been said you are not your illness.  I do believe this to be true.  However, I also believe we can be shaped by the way we respond to it.  I don’t presume anyone is prepared when out of the blue chronic illness strikes.  One day you are out there living your life and the next you are having needles endlessly poked in your arms, connected to IV’s and wandering around hospitals desperately trying to figure out how to keep your charming new gown closed.  It can be an overwhelming experience.  In order to survive with any semblance of sanity, one needs to strive to stay focused on getting to the end……….

bear-attack

Illness does not have to make us a different person today from who we were yesterday.   I know when I was in the throes of my diagnosis and wasn’t certain what I had, I could be a bit “disagreeable” on occasion.  Of course I blamed this on my illness but my wife quickly pointed out to me, I had the same types of melt downs before I got sick.  Leave it to your wife to tell you how it really is!   Of course she was right.  Yes, the circumstances were different, but my reactions to them came from that place deep inside me that made me the me I was then and the me I am today.

two paths

Every situation we face in life, every challenge that comes our way whether it be chronic illness or something else leaves us with a choice to make.  The choice we make will define who we are and where we go from there.  We have 2 paths before us.  Are we going to take the path that leads to heartache and further mayhem or are we going to choose the path that leads to Joy and happiness.  The choice is ours.

free will

God has given us free will.  It’s a wonderful thing if we use it wisely.  If we don’t, it can truly lead to nothing but pain and sorrow and further heartache.  This journey is a hard one.  Do not get me wrong.  Just because I have made the right choices today does not mean tomorrow I may not make the wrong ones.  It is a process.  Every day brings its new challenges.

mperfect ok

That’s when we have to look deep inside at who we are and what we are made of.  We need to get at the very core of our being and pull out all the stops.  Some days this can be a very hard thing to do.  Other days it may not be.  But it is always worth the effort. We are not perfect by any means and that is okay.  I honestly believe this to be true.  It is the reason I am the me I am today.

About dansarc

If you enjoy reading about things that inspire you, things that make you giggle, enjoy uplifting music videos, love your pet and beautiful scenery then you have come to the right place. I have recently been diagnosed with a chronic illness and am trying to take one day at a time fitting that into my already crazy life. Come along on my journey as I relay what I have learned along the way. Some of it can be funny and some not so much. Grab a cup of coffee and get your readers on as we travel this road together. Be sure to press that "Like" button if you see something you enjoyed. I'd also love your feedback so feel free to leave me a comment. If you're having a good time and would like to join me again be sure to "Follow" me as well. I'd love to have you!!! I am a dedicated husband and father, diagnosed with Sarcoidosis and doing whatever it takes to get through each day with as much dignity as possible. I do not know what tomorrow brings but I do know who brings tomorrow. Strong faith and a love for Christ and my family is what gets me through each day with a smile on my face. One day, one hour, one minute at a time.....................
This entry was posted in Chronic illness, Disease, Sarcoidosis, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Me I am Today…………

  1. jennkcole says:

    I love the way you look and take on life, I know it’s not always easy but you really inspire me, and you sound like a strong and loving father

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

