Searching for the Silver Lining

HighRes_SilverLiningFront

One thing I have found to be true about having a chronic illness is that “state of mind” is key.  With all the various doctors and procedures one has to go through on a weekly basis, it can start to become a rather daunting existence.  Maybe that presents those of us who deal with it somewhat of a challenge.  We don’t necessarily get to “look” for the silver lining so to speak.   Maybe we need to “search” for it.  Some days that can be challenging to say the least…………….

pity-party

Some days it is just easier to wallow and feel sorry for ourselves.  To say “Life isn’t fair” and “Why me?”  I’ve been there myself many times.  There is a bit of comfort one can have in that mode.  It is safe because it is only about us.  We do not need to care about what anyone else thinks.  We do not have to feel challenged.  We do not need to grow. We can just stay locked up in ourselves and keep having our little pity party for one.  The problem is, that before long that becomes a lonely and isolating state of mind.  For some I guess that might work.  For me however, it is not an option.  I like people too much.

hugging pic          party for all

God did not design us to be alone.  He wants us to be in “communion” with others.  We need people to challenge us, to question us and provoke us to grow and become better human beings.  Life is not fair.  Why some of us get sick and others remain healthy is a great mystery.  We do not always get to understand the why’s in this life.  All we can do is the very best with the hand we’ve been dealt.  It is said God does not give us more than we can handle.  I firmly believe this to be true.  He gave us the people we have in our lives to help us get through these tough times.  He knew life would not always be easy so he gave us each other to help lighten that load.  That is how much He loves us.

Sarcoidosis Awareness 4

Sarcoidosis, just like any disease, is not fun.  It can be painful, nauseating, mind-numbing, lonely, and scary. Many times we get no answers and are left to wonder where we go from here.  What is going to happen next?  In life there are no guarantees.  We do not know what is going to happen next.  That is true whether we deal with a chronic illness or not.  We can let ourselves get caught up in these things or we can embrace the disease we are dealing with and hit it head on. We can choose to lock ourselves in to a world of isolation and loneliness or we can choose to remain positive and have HOPE.  Because Hope matters.  It is up to us.  Let’s choose to rely on what God has given us. Let’s choose to live in a positive state of mind and live the lives God intended us to live!

About dansarc

If you enjoy reading about things that inspire you, things that make you giggle, enjoy uplifting music videos, love your pet and beautiful scenery then you have come to the right place. I have recently been diagnosed with a chronic illness and am trying to take one day at a time fitting that into my already crazy life. Come along on my journey as I relay what I have learned along the way. Some of it can be funny and some not so much. Grab a cup of coffee and get your readers on as we travel this road together. Be sure to press that "Like" button if you see something you enjoyed. I'd also love your feedback so feel free to leave me a comment. If you're having a good time and would like to join me again be sure to "Follow" me as well. I'd love to have you!!! I am a dedicated husband and father, diagnosed with Sarcoidosis and doing whatever it takes to get through each day with as much dignity as possible. I do not know what tomorrow brings but I do know who brings tomorrow. Strong faith and a love for Christ and my family is what gets me through each day with a smile on my face. One day, one hour, one minute at a time.....................
This entry was posted in Chronic illness, Disease, Sarcoidosis, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Searching for the Silver Lining

  1. John Farrell says:

    sorry but I am a cynic. God as a concept is wishful thinking. Nobody has come back to confirm that he is or isn’t. You may as well believe in the easter bunny

    Like

    • dansarc says:

      Thank you for your comment John. I appreciate your feedback. This is where we see things differently. You view God as a “concept” to be believed in or not. I view God as my Father and creator of heaven and earth. I do not need anyone to have come back to prove to me that He exists. I believe He exists through Faith. He is not wishful thinking to me. He is real to me. He’s as real to me as the Easter Bunny isn’t. Be well

      -Dan

      Like

      • jennkcole says:

        Gods Not Dead, have you seen it. My daughter is 12 and we watched it together and with her she believes whole hardheartedly, She’s writing an essay on Angels, her favorite angel is the Guarding Angel, she died at least once after one of her surgeries, so she isn’t terrified of moving on . Another saying is This is Our Temporary Home. Yes that was very deep for me, bit we need faith, hope and love.

        Like

      • dansarc says:

        I have not seen the movie but most of my family has. I hear it is amazing. Wow, your daughter has been through a lot at the tender age of 12. I will keep her in my prayers. Carrie Underwood has a song called “Temporary Home” It is nice. You should check it out.

        Thanks for the comment!

        -Dan

        Like

Leave a Reply

