Some days are just Crazier than Others!

cold rain

Today was on of those days that was rainy, cold and dreary.  I was not feeling well and had quite a bit of pain.  I slept late but knew I would need to chip in and do a bit of grocery shopping so we could all eat!  Since I have been ill and out of work, my wife Julie has been working full-time in addition to giving a few hours a week worth of piano lessons in our home and playing for church services and she is starting to get tired.  I try to do what I can by keeping the house clean and making sure the kids and us are fed.  It was inevitable, today I HAD to get some food so we all didn’t starve…………….

iStock-Envelop-Budget

Julie is still doing the bills and always budgets the funds for groceries.  We use cash so we cannot over spend.  Say what you will. It works for us.  She keeps the grocery money in her purse in the bank envelope so when we go to the store it is there.  She suggested we just run and get something fast and use the little bit of extra cash she had so it would not be such an ordeal.  I told her I would rather we just run and get it all done so I didn’t have that “chore” hanging over my head so we agreed and got to work making a list. Finally after painstakingly  getting a list made, I told her she could stay home and I would get the groceries to which she readily agreed!  (Such a surprise. Wink wink!)  She goes to give me the money from her purse……………..and it isn’t there!

670px-Make-a-Potato-Chip-Sandwich-Step-2

She again frantically peruses her purse and comes up empty.  She is searching this drawer and that drawer, this cabinet and that cabinet, desperately trying to search her memory bank as to what she could have possibly done with a bank envelope full of almost $200 dollars worth of food money for the week.  I am starting to get worried now thinking what on earth we will do if that money is somehow gone for good.  Due to my illness, we have a lot of medical bills that we already pay a large enough monthly payment on and with me still not working, savings is all but a distant memory for the time being. Basically, we are screwed!  I’m thinking “ketchup sandwiches” here we come!  The thought of my children’s moaning and groaning is now giving me a headache.  Searching continues for a half hour and still produces NOTHING!

money-throw-away

I’m getting the sinking suspicion that somehow someone (probably me) inadvertently threw the envelope in the garbage.  I do not even want to go there but I fear I must.  I share my suspicions with my wife and she agrees this MUST be what happened.  I do not want to do it but head to the trash can.  Drats!  The bag is empty.  Ahhh!  I remember trash pick up tomorrow and I just had my son take the garbage to the road.  Of all the luck!  I head for the curb and wheel the container back to the garage where I can see.  Dang, it’s cold outside so I bring the first bag into the house.  I’m hoping somehow I can see an envelope through the bag as I pick it up and twist it around and around.  My wife joins in the search. I see a LOT of envelopes in the bag.  We had received the mail and bills the same day the cash was divvied up.  Was this a good sign???  Suddenly I see a bank envelope right on the side!   I ask her if that could be it and she agrees that maybe it could be.

lucky clover

I try to undo the knot in the bag.  The suspense is killing me.  Could I have gotten this lucky?  Is that the envelope in question?  Could we really have thrown it away by mistake?  This would be extremely out of character for Julie.  Not for me mind you, especially not with my new-found “brain fog” but for her yes!   If I did throw it out it was 2 days earlier.  What are the chances this is the envelope and in it was the $200 dollars?  I ultimately got the knot untied and stuck my hand all the way to the bottom of the bag to retrieve the envelope in question.  I felt it and it had thickness to it!  Another good sign I am hoping!  I finally reached the top of the bag and pulled the evasive envelope out.

man-finds-120-in-trash

I opened the envelope and voila!  There inside was the coveted $200.  We had found it at last.  I cannot tell you the relief we both felt!  Then a sobering thought hit me.  If I would have just gone for our supper that night and left the rest of the shopping until later, we would not have discovered the cash missing until the next day and by then it would have been too late as the garbage would have already been picked up along with our cash, never to be seen again!  Worst yet, it would have been those rotten ketchup sandwiches for the next week.  Morning , noon, and night!!!

Thanks to God

We got a good laugh out of that one and thanked God seriously for watching out for us and blessing us the way He did!  I was finally on my way to get those groceries.  Of course by now I was so exhausted and fatigued, I had no clue how I was going to do it.  After all that, however I had to just buck up and do it so off I went!

hello-kitty-pajamas

It would not have been a “perfect end to a perfect day”, however, if I had not run into the man I saw in Wal-Mart walking around in his pink “Hello Kitty” pajama bottoms!!!  I just could not believe my eyes.  I realized then and there I had had enough.  It was time to pack it in and end this day!  It really is true………Some days are just crazier than others!

About dansarc

If you enjoy reading about things that inspire you, things that make you giggle, enjoy uplifting music videos, love your pet and beautiful scenery then you have come to the right place. I have recently been diagnosed with a chronic illness and am trying to take one day at a time fitting that into my already crazy life. Come along on my journey as I relay what I have learned along the way. Some of it can be funny and some not so much. Grab a cup of coffee and get your readers on as we travel this road together. Be sure to press that "Like" button if you see something you enjoyed. I'd also love your feedback so feel free to leave me a comment. If you're having a good time and would like to join me again be sure to "Follow" me as well. I'd love to have you!!! I am a dedicated husband and father, diagnosed with Sarcoidosis and doing whatever it takes to get through each day with as much dignity as possible. I do not know what tomorrow brings but I do know who brings tomorrow. Strong faith and a love for Christ and my family is what gets me through each day with a smile on my face. One day, one hour, one minute at a time.....................
This entry was posted in Chronic illness, Disease, Humor, Inspiration, Sarcoidosis and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some days are just Crazier than Others!

  1. Don Sonnentag says:

    Dan, anything more on the man in pink?????

    Like

Leave a Reply

